Flight of the Sparrow

Based on the compelling true narrative of Mary Rowlandson, Flight of the Sparrow is an evocative tale that transports the reader to a little-known time in early America and explores the real meanings of freedom, faith, and acceptance.

Flight of the Sparrow

Flight of the Sparrow

From the author of Emily's House comes a “compelling, emotionally gripping”* novel of historical fiction—perfect for readers of America’s First Daughter. Massachusetts Bay Colony, 1676. Even before Mary Rowlandson was captured by Indians on a winter day of violence and terror, she sometimes found herself in conflict with her rigid Puritan community. Now, her home destroyed, her children lost to her, she has been sold into the service of a powerful woman tribal leader, made a pawn in the ongoing bloody struggle between English settlers and native people. Battling cold, hunger, and exhaustion, Mary witnesses harrowing brutality but also unexpected kindness. To her confused surprise, she is drawn to her captors’ open and straightforward way of life, a feeling further complicated by her attraction to a generous, protective English-speaking native known as James Printer. All her life, Mary has been taught to fear God, submit to her husband, and abhor Indians. Now, having lived on the other side of the forest, she begins to question the edicts that have guided her, torn between the life she knew and the wisdom the natives have shown her. Based on the compelling true narrative of Mary Rowlandson, Flight of the Sparrow is an evocative tale that transports the reader to a little-known time in early America and explores the real meanings of freedom, faith, and acceptance. READERS GUIDE INCLUDED

More Books:

Flight of the Sparrow
Language: en
Pages: 368
Authors: Amy Belding Brown
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-07-01 - Publisher: Penguin

From the author of Emily's House comes a “compelling, emotionally gripping”* novel of historical fiction—perfect for readers of America’s First Daughter. Massachusetts Bay Colony, 1676. Even before Mary Rowlandson was captured by Indians on a winter day of violence and terror, she sometimes found herself in conflict with her rigid
The Flight of the Sparrow
Language: en
Pages: 110
Authors: Robert Baker
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-04-08 - Publisher: iUniverse

While growing up on a Texas ranch, Robert Baker nurtured dreams of becoming a veterinarian. But when fate led him to a navy recruiters office in 1961, Bob embarked on a new journey that would eventually lead him to places and into situations he never could have imagined. In his
The Flight of The Sparrow
Language: en
Pages: 161
Authors: Alice Greenwood Greiner
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2009-09-17 - Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

A novel by Alice (Greenwood) Greiner about my paternal grandmother’s flight from Italy in 1871, and what prompted her to leave her home and family to travel halfway around the world to live in a foreign country surrounded by strangers. Most of those strangers were Mormons who barely tolerated those
Flight of the Sparrow
Language: en
Pages: 130
Authors: Julia Cunningham
Categories: France
Type: BOOK - Published: 1980 - Publisher: Pantheon

Little Cigarette is indebted to Mago for giving her a home but once again she is alone.
The Flight of a Sparrow
Language: en
Pages: 242
Authors: Karen Augustine
Categories: Young Adult Nonfiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-08-09 - Publisher: Christian Faith Publishing, Inc.

The Flight of a Sparrow is a true story about a young aboriginal woman whose life was chaos and darkness. The book tells of her struggles, challenges, and the abuse that was put upon her and how she coped in order to survive. It also describes the victory beyond the

Popular All Time

The Anunnaki Final Warning to Earth, and Their Return In 2022.
The Fast Track To Your Technician Class Ham Radio License
English for Everyone: English Vocabulary Builder
The Whiteness of Wealth: How the Tax System Impoverishes Black Americans--and How We Can Fix It by Dorothy A. Brown: Conversation Starters
The Old Farmer's Almanac 2021
100 Deadly Skills
2021 / 2022 ASVAB For Dummies
SIE Exam Prep 2021-2022: SIE Study Guide with 300 Questions and Detailed Answer Explanations for the FINRA Securities Industry Essentials Exam (Includes 4 Full-Length Practice Tests)
The 5 AM Club
Never Split the Difference
Behold a Pale Horse by Milton William Cooper: Conversation Starters
CDL Exam Prep 2020-2021: A CDL Study Guide with Practice Questions and Answers for the Commercial Driver's License Exam (Test Preparation Book)
Military Flight Aptitude Tests
ASVAB Prep Plus 2020-2021
Gentle Babies
Show, Don't Tell
The Tipping Point: How Little Things Can Make a Big Difference by Malcolm Gladwell -- Summary
The Spirit Catches You and You Fall Down: A Hmong Child, Her American Doctors, and the Collision of Two Cultures by Anne Fadiman (Max Help Workbooks)

Recent Books: